How do they work?

EtonX, from Eton College, provides online future skills courses to students aged 14-20. With schools closed for now, our courses enhance academic performance today and prepare students for a successful future in sixth form, at university and in the workplace.

Our courses are 100% online and take place in our virtual classroom led by an EtonX tutor.

Students can use their time constructively and gain an extra qualification, whilst learning with students from around the world. Our virtual classroom allows teenagers to continue interacting online, in small groups, and collaborate on tasks together.

  • Two weeks duration
  • 7 live, online classes
  • EtonX certificate
  • 1 hour of self-study per day
  • Groups of up to 8 students

Fast Track course features

All EtonX online courses are packed full of engaging learning materials, with a personal action plan and a knowledge test for each learner. Students learn from each other as well as from their tutor, participating in a range of role-play and discussion tasks in the virtual classroom and collaborating on peer learning tasks between classes. Our Creative Problem Solving, Critical Thinking, Verbal Communication, Public Speaking, Making an Impact and Writing Skills courses are all available as Fast Track options.

  • Designed by Eton College experts
  • Personal action plan
  • Interactive tasks, videos & quizzes
  • Knowledge test

Critical Thinking Course

Boost your academic success with analytical and logical thinking skills with our Critical Thinking course. You will learn to question ideas and findings by identifying faulty reasoning and poor arguments and understand the world better.

Courses start: every Monday
Next course starts: Monday 13th April
Class time: 4pm Japan/3pm Hong Kong/2pm Thailand/11am UAE/10am Saudi Arabia/10am Romania/9am Italy

Sign up now Course details

By the end of the course, you will be able to:
  • Use logic to make and analyse an argument
  • Identify bad arguments and faulty reasoning
  • Evaluate the evidence, data or statistics used to support an argument
  • Identify whether emotions, bias or prejudice have influenced reasoning
  • Apply a range of critical thinking techniques to arguments in different contexts

Creative Problem Solving Course

Our Creative Problem Solving course will help you to come up with many innovative ideas, to craft those ideas and apply them in your own life. You will also develop your skills in creative expression, both verbally and visually and learn how to see problems from different perspectives.

Courses start: Monday 13th April
Class time: 5pm Japan/4pm Hong Kong/3pm Thailand/12pm UAE/11am Saudi Arabia/11am Romania/10am Italy

Sign up now Course details

By the end of this course, you will be able to:
  • Develop curiosity for creative problem-solving
  • Generate lots of ideas
  • Be playful with your ideas
  • Refine and develop your ideas
  • Take risks and learn from mistakes
  • Persist with creative ideas
  • Develop your visual and verbal creativity
  • Be brave enough to share your creative ideas

Verbal Communication Course

Our Verbal Communication course will help you to minimise stress and misunderstanding when interacting with others and to approach different types of conversation with confidence. You’ll learn how to interact more effectively with the people around you and be comfortable handling difficult questions and situations.

Courses start: every Monday
Course starts: Monday 13th April
Class time: 7pm Japan/6pm Hong Kong/5pm Thailand/2pm UAE/1pm Saudi Arabia/1pm Romania/12pm Italy

Sign up now Course details

By the end of the course, you will be able to:
  • Identify your communication strengths and weaknesses
  • Interact confidently and build rapport
  • Engage others by speaking clearly and expressively
  • Structure your message concisely
  • Handle difficult conversations

Public Speaking Course

This course will help you work on your delivery, for speeches and presentations. You will improve your ability to speak in all kinds of contexts, from formal speeches in front of an audience to informal presentations in class. We help you to make preparing and delivering a speech a smooth process with our techniques for planning and memorising your speech like a pro.

Courses start: every Monday
Next course starts: Monday 13th April
Class time: 5pm Japan/4pm Hong Kong/3pm Thailand/12pm UAE/11am Saudi Arabia/11am Romania/10am Italy

Sign up now Course details

By the end of this course, you will be able to:
  • Overcome your nerves and anxiety
  • Deal with difficult questions and interruptions
  • Engage your audience
  • Moderate your volume, pitch and tone for maximum impact
  • Highlight key points with pausing, pacing and signposting
  • Deliver your talks without a script

Making an Impact Course

Get your ideas and opinions heard and develop influencing skills to increase your leadership capabilities with our Making an Impact course. Become more assertive and learn how to influence others.

Courses start: every Monday
Next course starts: Monday 13th April
Class time: 6pm Japan/5pm Hong Kong/4pm Thailand/1pm UAE/12pm Saudi Arabia/12pm Romania/11am Italy

Sign up now Course details

By the end of this course, you will be able to:
  • Communicate your opinions clearly and confidently
  • Ask for what you want and say ‘no’ politely
  • Moderate your body language and tone of voice to make the right impression
  • Ask better questions and summarise what you hear
  • Build trust and empathise with others
  • Understand and implement different techniques to influence and persuade others

Writing Skills Course

Our Writing Skills course will teach you the techniques and you need to help you to produce your best work no matter what the essay question.

Courses start: Monday 13th April
Class time: 8pm Japan/7pm Hong Kong/6pm Thailand/3pm UAE/2pm Saudi Arabia/2pm Romania/1pm Italy

Sign up now Course details

By the end of this course, you will be able to:
  • Analyse the essay question and define your task
  • Techniques for efficient planning
  • Create a coherent structure
  • Develop an argument and write purposeful introductions and conclusions
  • Use appropriate language
  • Avoid plagiarism and use reference material appropriately
  • Check your essay for accuracy and consistency